Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Screwfix TIG welder
Dantheman

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:01 PM Reply With Quote
Screwfix TIG welder

Hi. Has anyone else seen this. It seems reasonably priced to me, doesnt say the torch is included but is shown in the pictures.

Link

theconrodkid

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:06 PM Reply With Quote
looks like the torch is included,its an inverter,scratch start,i bought a similar one some time ago,it was pants as a tig but great as an arc welder

who cares who wins
pass the pork pies

BenB

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:14 PM Reply With Quote
That's an expensive arc welder though
Dantheman

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:19 PM Reply With Quote
I'm no expert on TIG welding but I was under the impression that "inverter" was good . Plasma cutters seem to advertise "inverter technology" as a good thing, so why is it no good for TIG welders?
joneh

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:23 PM Reply With Quote
Panasonic Microwaves have inverter technology as well. And they're good. So it MUST be good....

Sorry that was no help at all....

Dantheman

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:27 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by joneh

Sorry that was no help at all....

Correct.

theconrodkid

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:35 PM Reply With Quote
its the scratch start thats the prob,hf start is better,electrode dosnt touch work peice etc

who cares who wins
pass the pork pies

Dantheman

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:38 PM Reply With Quote
Scratch start, HF start? Forgive me but...huh?
Dantheman

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:40 PM Reply With Quote
Scratch start, HF start? Forgive me but...huh?
nitram38

posted on 9/5/07 at 07:51 PM Reply With Quote
Varible Foot pedal is best.
With scratch start you have to preset the current, but this makes the welding control you. In other words, you have to get your speed right.