Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Your advice please - imported SVA'd car
smitht82

posted on 7/6/12 at 09:40 PM Reply With Quote
Your advice please - imported SVA'd car

Hi All,

I'm new to the Kitcar world (and locostbuilder) and have justed purchased a BEC MK Indy. The Car was imported from Guernsey last year were it was already registered on the road. I'm unsure what i need to do now in the UK? is it a simple case of just getting a UK registration and MOT or do i still have to get an IVA carried out?

I've got the HM Customers Import charges confirmation and also a UK MOT.

The car is currently has no reverse gear or centre mirror :-(

Thanks in advance!

Tim

Hellfire

posted on 7/6/12 at 10:01 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the forum and the bestest resource on the www for all things kit car related and congratulations on your new purchase. Good choice of engine With regards to registration, have a read of this. I suspect that it will need an IVA before it can be registered in the UK. How did it manage to get a UK MOT without a centre rear view mirror? Did you buy it from a dealer in the UK?

Phil

[Edited on 7-6-12 by Hellfire]

smitht82

posted on 7/6/12 at 10:10 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Phil,

Thanks for the welcome. I've added below the UK MOT cert which is for the Guernsey plate:

The car has no V5 however, so i'm completely unsure as what to do.

[Edited on 7/6/12 by smitht82]

[Edited on 7/6/12 by smitht82]

Davg

posted on 7/6/12 at 10:30 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Tim

lools like you will have to put the car through an IVA test (possibly the reason why the previous owner sold it- hope you got a good deal).

Cheers
D

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hellfire

posted on 7/6/12 at 10:49 PM Reply With Quote
Have you checked with your local DVLA? If not, it may be worth a quick phone call for their advice and/or assistance.

Phil

Gti6boy