Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Boarding over uneven slate flooring
computid

posted on 7/5/21 at 11:53 PM Reply With Quote
Boarding over uneven slate flooring

Hi all,

I'm a bit new to all of this house decorating and re-building stuff so I thought I'd ask the collective!

I have a slate tiled floor in my kitchen. The slate is uneven and has up to 5mm of change between edges in some places. Its impossible to keep clean and I think it looks awful. The kitchen units were installed over the top of this flooring.

I would like to replace this flooring with modular wooden flooring for both ease of keeping clean, and to brighten up the room. I'm not keen to try and remove the flooring, not least because it runs under the kitchen units which I would like to keep.

I've come across a product called Jackoboard which states it can be installed as flooring over uneven substrates. I'm considering installing this over the top of the slate, and then putting wooden flooring on top of it. Does anybody have any experience of this, or have any other suggestions as to how best to deal with this?

Thanks!

cliftyhanger

posted on 8/5/21 at 05:15 AM Reply With Quote
I would be using a floor levelling compound. I can't get a perfect finish with the stuff, but I had a rental with a tiled floor done by the flooring chap, which then had a HD vinyl floor installed. All perfectly flat/smooth.
I would think 5mm is a very big ask of a board, unless very soft and thick.

watsonpj

posted on 8/5/21 at 10:20 AM Reply With Quote