Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: ZX9R Poor performance at speed
Riggins

posted on 14/7/08 at 03:10 PM Reply With Quote
ZX9R Poor performance at speed

No sooner have I introduced myself, I'm asking for help

As some background I've only just purchased a Tiger B6 with a ZX9R (E) engine. This is my 1st kit car and although I have some basic mechanical knowledge I have a lot to learn.

I took the car out for the 1st proper drive at the weekend and encountered a problem that I didn't notice on the test drive...

The car and engine performs fine throughout the rev range and when accelerating to high speed. However, when settling into a steady cruise of around 60+ mph after a couple of minute the engine starts to misfire/bog down.

I tried easing off the throttle and putting my foot down again but the problem continues. Changing gear makes no difference. Eventually the car lost virtually all power and I was forced to pull over - at which point the engine stalled.

I left it turned off for around 10 seconds, restarted and it was running perfectly again. Pulled away, everything fine.
Got back up to the same sort of speed, travelled for another couple of minutes and the same problem again. Stopped - this time engine was still running waited another 10 or seconds, blipped the throttle and all OK again.

I've tried looking using the search function for similar problems but I can't find an exact match.

Does anyone have any suggestions or can offer any help?

YQUSTA

posted on 14/7/08 at 03:20 PM Reply With Quote
i dont know what the problem is or how to fix it but there was another guy with the same problem

he put the fuel upto 8 psi on the regulator which seamed to fix the issue not sure if it should be that high though.

http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=89015

YQUSTA

simoto

posted on 14/7/08 at 03:22 PM Reply With Quote