Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: need advice ?
scooby doo !

posted on 21/2/03 at 07:57 PM Reply With Quote
need advice ?

I am new to the lowcost kitcar game, but after considering the many Kitcar options and my lack of cash i have decided to buy two books one from RC and the other from Tiger.
But the problem is i dont want to fit a standard Ford or Rover engine or even a Bike engine, i would like to fit a subaru Impreza 2l turbo engine. But no one seems to have done this and anyone i have talked to says i am mad,(i didnt need them to tell me that!!)
There is something about the note of a flat four engine that stirs the blood.
Is there anyone out there that has fitted this into a seven replica or can offer me any advice on how to go about this. What gearbox could be used ?
Any advice would be most appreciated :)

johnston

posted on 21/2/03 at 08:00 PM Reply With Quote
i have worked on a few flat4s and i think itll be too wide for a locost chassis

g box aint a prob u can weld centre diff and just use prop out the bac and forget 2 frt drive shafts

scooby doo !

posted on 23/2/03 at 08:43 AM Reply With Quote
looks like will need to wait till books arrive and get the measuring tape out.
Tanx for the advice.

theconrodkid

posted on 23/2/03 at 09:16 AM Reply With Quote
why not "adapt" the chassis to fit the running gear,plenty people have and end up with a car that looks a bit different

who cares who wins
pass the pork pies

Stu16v

posted on 23/2/03 at 11:51 AM Reply With Quote
I dont think that the scooby motor is gonna fit without some serious mods to chassis design. And I am pretty sure that you will have to run with a 2WD system as the original system has the front wheel drive shafts coming out of the gearbox. If you have a look in the photo archive you will see that engines in a seven type vehicle are quite a way behind the front axle line, whereas the Scooby's engine is foward of the axle line..