Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: newbie seeks advice
absolute0

posted on 9/6/04 at 03:45 PM Reply With Quote
newbie seeks advice

Hi,

I'm very new to the whole world of locost/kit cars, so please bear with me. I've been searching the web and can't really find anything relating to insurance costs of a locost. Can someone give me a rough estimate as to how much people are spending on this? Do you insure only when required, or do you insure the car on an annual basis?

I'm have no prior knowledge of mechanics, so I am looking to try to learn the necessaries before I even touch a kit car. Has anyone got any suggestions as to what the best approach for someone like me is?

Cheers

stephen_gusterson

posted on 9/6/04 at 03:56 PM Reply With Quote
depends on age

Quotes seem to range between 180 - 300 quid or so for an 'average' car with a driver over 25, limited to 3000 miles a year.

If you are younger, or have a big turbo engine, its more costly, or even prohibitive.

If you dont have a lot of experience, buy a kit like a MK indy, OR buy something ready made. You can pick up a seven type car for a few thousand - which is realistically what It will cost you to build one anyways...... dont be fooled by the book title.

It uses the currency of planet Zorg, where a Zorgian pound is worth approx 1000 of our earth pence.

atb

steve

Jasper

posted on 9/6/04 at 04:13 PM Reply With Quote
Age is the key - I'm 36 and pay £155 a year - so very cheap.

As for learning - I knew very little b4 I started - just a few basics like servicing and stuff. I went to my local night school and did a basic car maintenance coarse, which gave me a little confidence. Best thing to do is to get stuck in. Decide what you want - a balls out track day car, or more of a long distance machine - get yourself to as many shows or local meets as possible and talk to lots of people.

OX

posted on 9/6/04 at 05:44 PM Reply With Quote