Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Scratch built spaceframe
Amos08

posted on 22/10/17 at 02:26 PM Reply With Quote
Scratch built spaceframe

Hello everyone,

I have been planning on starting a road legal scratch built mid engine space frame project for some time now.

I have searched all over google but not much help and havent got my head into the iva manual.

The base car will be either a vauxhall nova / corsa, with a space frame chasis running vx220 wishbones hubs driveshafts, with a z20let engine mid mounted from an astra gsi, steering rack, arb and all of the clocks looms and ecu from an astra gsi.

I have the below questions before i even think about starting.

1. Because it is completely rebuilding the car i know i will need an iva test to keep it legal. What are the iva requirements for a scratch built space frame? Im not a novice welder and have structural design qualifications (buildings unfortunatly ha). Do they test the design or the welds or anything? I wont need it to msa specs. Is it even possible to put an “amature” built chasis through an iva?

2. Because its an exisitng car shell i dont think il have a problem with radiuses ect, all the lights are already e rated ect. Do they test radiuses underneath the car?

3. I want to dona flat bottom, can you run fuel lines through the cabin to the engine in the back? Same with coolant and brake lines.

Let me know your thoughts

Cheers

coyoteboy

posted on 22/10/17 at 04:31 PM Reply With Quote
I'm going this route. As far as I can tell there's no requirements other than appearance of good quality welds and no requirement for analysis but if it looks like it's a flimsy mess they'll probably reject it. I think there's side impact protection requirements but they're minimal. There's no roll-over protection requirement, which is, quite frankly, nuts - so that guides you as to how stringent the testing is.

theconrodkid