Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: advice/suggestions please
dinosaurjuice

posted on 10/10/08 at 09:31 PM Reply With Quote
advice/suggestions please

Hi everyone,

im toying with the idea of scratch building a midi. will probably be based around 1.4 fiesta.
any advice on design/construction would be appreciated.
im a competent mig welder and generally good at making stuff, however ive never done fibreglass work.
im torn between following the concept of the Mev Rocket i assembled or a more enclosed design.

thanks in advance

Will

nitram38

posted on 10/10/08 at 09:47 PM Reply With Quote
First, you shouldn't under estimate the amount of time a project like this takes (check out my F1-2 in my archive).
Also make sure you have enough space. I built my car in a single garage but it was difficult.
It is a good idea to do lots of research on mold making and fibreglassing as this was the most time consuming stage of my build.
You could always save yourself the problem and buy my 1.4 ltr Rover powered rear engined F1-2!

It even comes with the molds
CLICK HERE

Description
Description

[Edited on 10/10/2008 by nitram38]

Fred W B

posted on 10/10/08 at 09:51 PM Reply With Quote
HI Will

Welcome to the site

see HERE for some thoughts on starting out.

Cheers

Fred W B

You can do it quickly. You can do it cheap. You can do it right. – Pick any two.

kb58

posted on 10/10/08 at 11:03 PM Reply With Quote
To get an idea what it's like to build a midi based on FWD drivetrains, check out the book *cough* in my sig *cough*. I'm currently designing a new one, one that will take zero composite work on the builders part, not not spend $$$$ on a shell.

Mid-engine Locost - http://www.midlana.com
And the book - http://www.lulu.com/shop/kurt-bilinski/midlana/paperback/product-21330662.html
Kimini - a tube-frame, carbon shell, Honda Prelude VTEC mid-engine Mini: http://www.kimini.com