Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: 30 thou bow on 2 litre zetec head
stargoaly

posted on 2/9/06 at 08:02 PM Reply With Quote
30 thou bow on 2 litre zetec head

Checked head after porting. Had a "Senior Moment", or is it cause I'm new to this game. Anyhow has anyone got a spare MK 1 - 2 litre zetec head they want to get shut off.
gazza285

posted on 2/9/06 at 08:58 PM Reply With Quote
How much can you skim off a Zetec? 30 thou is nothing off a Crossflow, but I don't know about these new fangled things.

DO NOT PUT ON KNOB OR BOLLOCKS!

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
coozer

posted on 2/9/06 at 10:07 PM Reply With Quote
30 thou? Whats that in new (post Roman times) money.

Me thinks a skim should true it up. Problem is these engines dont generally suffer from warped head, must have been cooked big time dude

1972 V8 Jago

1980 Z750

liam.mccaffrey

posted on 2/9/06 at 10:56 PM Reply With Quote
0.75mm
gazza285

posted on 2/9/06 at 11:00 PM Reply With Quote
0.75 ish to be exact

DO NOT PUT ON KNOB OR BOLLOCKS!

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
liam.mccaffrey

posted on 2/9/06 at 11:12 PM Reply With Quote
ohh come on 0.75mm is as close as eggs
stargoaly

posted on 2/9/06 at 11:41 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks for your interest guys. Liam is quite right its around 0.75mm ish. I still think in old money. The engine I bought did have a blown gasket, but I did not think the head would have this amount of distortion (Experience is what you get when things go wrong). I have looked at threads on this site and others and it seems tha you should only take about 0.1 to 0.15 mm off these hesda otherwise there is a chance that the valves might interfere with the pistons. These engines have flat topped pistons which stroke right to the top off the engine and the combustion chamber is quite shallow.