Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Recommend me an insurer...
iti_uk
Builder

Posts 163
Registered 13/10/08

Photo Archive Go!
Building: The KLMX-5 ('97 MX5 w/Mazda KL 2.5L V6)

posted on 25/8/10 at 11:08 PM Reply With Quote
Recommend me an insurer...

My car:
Mk.1 MX-5 with a 2.5L V6 (from a Ford Probe), otherwise standard, stored in a garage.

Me:
8 years' no-claims, clean license, 26yrs old, living in a low-risk area, and an engineering consultant by trade.

I tried 2gether, the sponsors of this thread, and they "don't insure that type of car". Well, just before they told me that, they told me it would be "upwards of 700 pounds", but then said it wasn't possible.

?!?!??!??!?!

Their website seemed to suggest they insure everything from full-on kitcars to exotics. I will be taking my business elsewhere, for sure, but where? Anyone in the same boat as me??

Chris

[Edited on 25/8/2010 by iti_uk]

MkIndy7

posted on 25/8/10 at 11:29 PM Reply With Quote
I'm a similar age and Circumstances etc and Insured with Footman James (was Adrian Flux before)..

They were ok with an engine change etc provided it was within a certain percentage of the original engine power (like 30%) until I explained it was a drivetrain transplant so everything was uprated to suit from the Donor Car

I think thats more to do with getting it on a Classics policy which I should imagine you can just about do on a Mk1 MX-5

speed8

posted on 26/8/10 at 06:00 AM Reply With Quote
Been with a-plan for quite a few years now. Always manage to find the cheapest deal for me.
john_p_b

posted on 26/8/10 at 06:20 AM Reply With Quote
adrian flux? they seem to cover anything and everything, just got a decent quote off them for my cosworth which had my current insurer not matched i'd have gone with them as i have both my other cars covered with them.