Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Give me some ideas...
StevieB

posted on 30/8/10 at 05:11 PM Reply With Quote
Give me some ideas...

It's just occurred to me that I'm fed up.

I'm a quantity surveyor and own my own business, working on a consultancy basis. Things are relatively good and profitable, and I've managed to keep it that way through the recession (not easy in construction!).

The thing is, I'm bored and feel limited - there's only so much per hour/day I can charge for my services and only so many days/hours in a year.

So, I know you all have ideas to make yourselves millionnaires - would anyone mind sharing some with me?

In seriousness, I do fancy the idea of taking on a small kit company and selling kits on the side - having all the bits made via subcontract etc. I could then keep my business running and run the kit operation as an on the side thing - a hobby that pays for itself, if you like.

This has nothing to do with the fact I watched Wall Street last night, either...

MakeEverything

posted on 30/8/10 at 05:54 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by StevieB

In seriousness, I do fancy the idea of taking on a small kit company and selling kits on the side - having all the bits made via subcontract etc. I could then keep my business running and run the kit operation as an on the side thing - a hobby that pays for itself, if you like.

This has nothing to do with the fact I watched Wall Street last night, either...

Cant you see if you can be a distributor of many kits? - A One Stop Shop?

[Edited on 30-8-10 by MakeEverything]

Kindest Regards,
Richard.

...You can make it foolProof, but youll never make it Idiot Proof!...

iank

posted on 30/8/10 at 06:11 PM Reply With Quote
Very few people in the kit business make much money at all. Most do it for the love of engineering.