Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Welding stainless
dave1888

posted on 26/8/04 at 04:12 PM Reply With Quote
Welding stainless

Is it possible to weld stainless to stainless using a mig welder if so do you require anything different ie wire or gas

locogeoff

posted on 26/8/04 at 04:36 PM Reply With Quote
IIRC You'll need stainless wire and an argon gas mixed with a wee bit oxygen 1-2%

Never tried it myself though!

Machine Mart sell ss wire and states its small bottles of pure argon are suitable for welding stainless

[Edited on 26/8/04 by locogeoff]

[Edited on 26/8/04 by locogeoff]

alfasudsprint

posted on 26/8/04 at 04:46 PM Reply With Quote
I am not an expert...but, yes, i undestand you need a different wire and gas, and more heat. I have welded a little stainless, with no probs, but the thing to watch for is rust. With different materials (ie the wire) the materials have electrolytic (correect?) differences, ie different number of positives and negatices, and that imbalance causes a flow in a particular direction, causing the corrosion, but if you clean it well and paint carefully, and not structual...prolly ok???
Mark Allanson

posted on 26/8/04 at 06:08 PM Reply With Quote
I've welded various grades of stainless with different flavours of gasses, I have used normal TC (80-20) with stainless using 1.2mm wire and over 400A.

For our sort of welding, I would just get a 0.5Kg reel of ss wire and go for it, just bump up the amps by about 10%. You will get a little chromium creep (the weld may eventually get a little surface rust), but, hey, ....

You could always get some 16g ss rods and arc weld, easier than for Mild steel and beautiful fillets

If you can keep you head, whilst all others around you are losing theirs, you are not fully aware of the situation

mangogrooveworkshop

posted on 26/8/04 at 06:19 PM Reply With Quote