Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Aluminium repairs/painting etc
jonbeedle

posted on 4/3/05 at 09:58 AM Reply With Quote
Aluminium repairs/painting etc

Hi All.
I'm thinking ahead here...quite away ahead, but I like to be prepared. The back panel of my car has one or two unwanted holes (incorrect positioning of lights!) I think there's a pic on my archive. Rather than make a new panel, I wondered about the best way to fill these as I have now decided to paint it. This would also mean that prior to painting, I could seal the rear wings onto the car using some sort of sealant to stop crap getting between the wings and the aluminium. The down side is that I wouldn't be able to remove just the grp bits for painting, I would have to transport the whole car to a spray shop, or spray it myself (oh dear!) but I like the idea of consolidating the back end!
Anyway, back to the plot. I used to be an aircraft engineer and the way to repair holes in ally was to do an insertion repair, where you make an exact sized insert and rivet it to a back plate, but sod that, it's too much like hard work. Can the holes be fixed using fibreglass mat and P38? If not, why not, and how else? Also, would spraying grp and ally together cause problems when painting i.e would different primers be required?
There I got there in the end!
Cheers
Jon

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Mix

posted on 4/3/05 at 10:21 AM Reply With Quote
Why not do an insertion repair but bond it rather than rivet?

Mick

jonbeedle

posted on 4/3/05 at 10:27 AM Reply With Quote
It did cross my mind. What's the best thing to use for bondage (ha ha) but seriously... should I use that PU adhesive that everyone raves about or do you have any other suggestions?
Cheers
Jon

quote:
Originally posted by Mix
Why not do an insertion repair but bond it rather than rivet?

Mick