Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Bonnet vents - any ideas
DarrenW

posted on 3/5/06 at 08:47 AM Reply With Quote
Bonnet vents - any ideas

At Stoneleigh the under bonnet temps after a motorway blat caused me some problems. I need to have more vents? Im not an expert on what looks nice. Please show me yours?

Here are some ive sketched on my bonnet. Constructive comments very welcome. i will have the same on both sides so which do you think look best or what else would you do? My idea is to put mesh behind just like infront of the bulge.

I think im favouring the rh side set but perhaps only the front 4.

[Edited on 3/5/06 by DarrenW]

[Edited on 3/5/06 by DarrenW] Rescued attachment Bonnet vent idea.JPG
Rescued attachment Bonnet vent idea.JPG

muzchap

posted on 3/5/06 at 09:02 AM Reply With Quote
Personally I prefer the ones on the right.

Or whats wrong with 2 long strips with rounded ends? That'd look good - especially if you follow the lines of the bulge

------------------------------------
If you believe you're not crazy, whilst everybody is telling you, you are - then they are definitely wrong!

Hellfire

posted on 3/5/06 at 09:11 AM Reply With Quote
I think further back as when you are moving quickly the hot air is being pushed towards the rear of the engine bay and down the tunnel not along the top.

If you do put them there the underneath will need significant reinforcing as it seriously removes any rigidity in the otherwise flimsy to start with bonnet.

The ones on the right I prefer.

Steve

tim windmill

posted on 3/5/06 at 09:15 AM Reply With Quote
darren,we are running the same pinto set up as you with the same bonnet and have no problems with the cooling, are you sure you have got the cooling set up right. we have done 2 pinto installations and not had the need for extra vents.