Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Laying Ceramic Floor Tiles - Tips
Surrey Dave

posted on 21/8/08 at 12:04 PM Reply With Quote
Laying Ceramic Floor Tiles - Tips

Looking forward to my 1st ceramic floor tile project , any good tips , different adhesives ready mixed / cement water based?

Laying onto concrete floor which is in smooth condition having scraped up the old marley tiles.

Any use sealing with unibond or similar?

twybrow

posted on 21/8/08 at 12:17 PM Reply With Quote
I was a tiling novice, now done several walls and floor, including exactly the floor type you are doing. My tips would be as follows:

Get an electric tile saw & several spare blades. You will also want a tile cutter (older wheel style) for awkward cuts, and a tile file for smoothing dodgy edges.

We used Dunlop adhesives and grout - not premixed as it would be a lot more money.

Ge the largest tiles you can comfortably use (more coverage for the same work!). Try to get tiles that iof chipped, will not show up - ie not ones that are just a thin layer on top.

Plan plan and plan again. Don't end up with silly half cuts all over the place.

Have plenty of spacers to hand, and I preferred using them vertically between tiles rather than trying to ensure they sit perfectly between them.

Lastly, don't worry if some don't sit quite as they should - by the time you grout, you will have forgotten which tiles were pants!

DavidM

posted on 21/8/08 at 12:22 PM Reply With Quote
When you grout them, clean off the excess as you go.

Guess how I know.

David

Proportion is Everything

DarrenW

posted on 21/8/08 at 12:39 PM Reply With Quote
Ive laid slate tiles before. They have to be sealed off before grouting otherwise a pain to clean the grout off. Glazed ceramic tiles will be ok though.

Dont some need a ply underfloor first? or is that only if laying onto wood floor?

Probs a good idea to read instructions on the adhesive packet.