Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Megasquirt woes
omega 24 v6

posted on 9/11/08 at 11:33 AM Reply With Quote
Megasquirt woes

Hi all hopefully you can explian the following to me. I have made a possible error on my megasquirt unit MS1 V2.2 board. I put a fuel pump relay in the relay board and it looks like I may have done some damage. The relay had a built in diode across the coil (reverse emf or suchlike protection) and now the fuel pump will not run at all. It does not prime for 5 secs (or whatever) and it does not run once the engine is turning over ( as it used to). I have changed Q3 and still no difference and i'm begining to think that I may have damaged the processor. I'm not a novice to electrics but electronics are not my thing. I cannot for the life of me get my head round the transistorQ3/Diode D7 /resistor r13 circuit and I was wondering if someone would be so kind as to explain it to me in general terms so that I can make a judgement on what to do next.
If I have done damage where is it likely to be?? I retested the unit as per the build instructions yesterday and all seems to be ok regarding the power, serial input and clock circuits. i could rig up a stand alone relay for the fuel pump and see if it works but I really want to succeed with my megasquirt. It's fighting me tooth and nail at the moment though. Thanks in advance.

If it looks wrong it probably is wrong.

02GF74

posted on 9/11/08 at 11:53 AM Reply With Quote
link to circuit diagram?

omega 24 v6

posted on 9/11/08 at 12:08 PM Reply With Quote
Ooops that would help. Here it is page 3 of the pdf.
megasquirt schematic

02GF74

posted on 9/11/08 at 12:44 PM Reply With Quote
I assume V12 is the 12 V power supply.

Circuit is equivalent to

As you correctly say, the transistor Q3 is a simple on/off switch load connected to FP-1 with the fly-back diode D7.