Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: This picture hurts my brain
liam.mccaffrey

posted on 2/3/16 at 07:41 PM Reply With Quote
This picture hurts my brain

I'm an engineer and this picture troubles me, I flip flop between understanding how it works and being baffled

I found this browsing through Kurt Belinskis Midlana site. Its not from Midlana though

[Edited on 2/3/16 by liam.mccaffrey]

Build Blog
Build Photo Album

designer

posted on 2/3/16 at 07:52 PM Reply With Quote
It's a method of increasing the stroke of the spring/damper, while staying compact.
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Sam_68

posted on 2/3/16 at 08:07 PM Reply With Quote
Wot Designer said.

This picture of the arrangement from a different angle might help:

cs3tcr

posted on 2/3/16 at 08:08 PM Reply With Quote

This might make it a little clearer. It's an interesting set-up and seems to work just fine in D-sports.

Edit: Sam beat me to it.

[Edited on 2/3/16 by cs3tcr]

liam.mccaffrey

posted on 2/3/16 at 08:09 PM Reply With Quote
I like it! Very slick, ive never seen this arrangement before.

[Edited on 2/3/16 by liam.mccaffrey]

Build Blog
Build Photo Album

mk7matt

posted on 2/3/16 at 08:12 PM Reply With Quote
Here's how I see it.

As the wishbone moves up in its arc, it pushes up on the bottom of the shock.
The pushrod also pushes up, but against the pivot.
The pivot pushes down on the top of the shock.

Twice as much travel on the shock.

2.0 Pinto powered Mk Indy.
10 years in the making.

SCAR

posted on 2/3/16 at 08:17 PM Reply With Quote
Wouldn't the inner joints on the upper wishbone and the shock be much better turned through 90 degrees.
I think continuous movement under load in that plane would see them off really quick

bi22le

posted on 2/3/16 at 08:18 PM Reply With Quote
Nope, im happy with that.