Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Slave cylinder?
theduck

posted on 24/4/12 at 07:07 PM Reply With Quote
Slave cylinder?

I've just confused myself and want to avoid doing the wring thing.

On my kit I have a Sierra master cylinder which has two outlets on the side going to the front brakes. There us another outlet underneath currently with nothing attached, presumably for the rear brakes? However, below the master cylinder is another cylinder which has connected to it the brake pipe to the rear brakes, so would this be a slave cylinder and I need to run a length of brake pipe between master and slave cylinders?

If I have this all correct and the previous owner hasn't got it setup wrong, anyone fancy making a brake pipe up to save me buying the tolls just for this one short length? I will of cause pay you for your time and parts

adithorp

posted on 24/4/12 at 08:51 PM Reply With Quote
That doesn't sound right.
You should have either a Single tandem master cylinder (Sierra or similar) linked to both back and front brakes (slave cylinder would be in the rear brake drums) or 2 master cylinders linked to the pedal with a balance bar arrangement with one master feeding the rear and the other to the front.

Have you got any pictures?

"A witty saying proves nothing" Voltaire

http://jpsc.org.uk/forum/

richard

posted on 24/4/12 at 09:23 PM Reply With Quote
on my sierra brake master cylinder with servo, the two outlets at the front of the master cyliner do the front brakes these are either side by side or close by to each other so they operate at the same time, the outlet further back towards the bulkhead should do to the rear brakes, on my donar this went via a brake bias valve positioned in the engine bay to adjust the pressure to rear brakes under heavy braking, maybe you are missing that connecting pipe.
Rich.

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member