Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: VW PD Diesel engine - What is normal oil temp?
craig1410

posted on 31/1/06 at 09:53 PM Reply With Quote
VW PD Diesel engine - What is normal oil temp?

Hi,
I have been driving a diesel engined Seat Alhambra for the last two years and have recently noticed the oil temperature goes up quite a bit if I am cruising at anything over 75MPH (on the autobahn you understand..) It is the PD engine, either a 115BHP model as the V5 states or a 130BHP model as it appears to perform (honestly not sure which). Anyway, the temperature is something like 70/80C when cruising at 50-60MPH and rises to anything up to 110-120C when cruising at 80-90MPH. Should I be worried about this? There is no "red line" on the oil temp gauge and I'm not sure at what temperature the oil will start to break down.

It's probably always been like this but now I have a fixation on it and my mind may be playing tricks on me...

Cheers,
Craig.

ned

posted on 31/1/06 at 09:56 PM Reply With Quote
my pd always sits exactly on the middle of the temp gauge once warmed up. its a chipped 115 and has just clocked 124k

Ned.

beware, I've got yellow skin

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Danozeman

posted on 31/1/06 at 10:12 PM Reply With Quote
My passat tdi sits in the middle too.

Dan

Built the purple peril!! Let the modifications begin!!

http://www.eastangliankitcars.co.uk

ed_crouch

posted on 1/2/06 at 01:02 AM Reply With Quote
But this fella is talking about OIL temperature!

Water temp-wise, agreed, my Audi A4 TDI 110 always sat at 90C. It did sometimes drop back when going down a long hill off the gas, but when its not burning any fuel, the engine cant magic heat out of nowhere! It might have had a stuck thermostat I guess.

Ed.

I-iii-iii-iii-ts ME!

Hurrah.

www.wings-and-wheels.net

ned

posted on 1/2/06 at 09:30 AM Reply With Quote
quote: