Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: RV8 wet or oily plugs
Irony

posted on 28/9/15 at 01:59 PM Reply With Quote
RV8 wet or oily plugs

Got my RV8 running now and it has issues. I think it's either running rich or somehow oiling up the spark plugs. Once the car is running it seems to be fine. However if left over a period of time, say a couple of weeks the plugs are black and wet. It struggles to start and one or more cylinders don't seem to be firing. The exhausts are cold. Take the spark plugs out of the offending bores and they are wet with black fluid. I don't know if its oil or sooted petrol. Clean then up and it'll fire and run happily.

I am new to building engines so (and I built this one) any advice is appreciated. I thought that maybe the valve guide seals were the offending problem but there seems to be differing advice on the net.

craig1410

posted on 28/9/15 at 02:35 PM Reply With Quote
I don't understand how the plugs can get black and wet when the engine is just sitting there. My best guess is that it is running rich (hence sooty plugs) and maybe after switch off, it is continuing to leak petrol into the engine which then floods it at the next switch on?

What type of carburettors are you using? Or is it EFI? If carbs then maybe something like leaky needle valves on the fuel inlets to the float chambers?

btw, it's not uncommon to see sooty plugs on an RV8 unless you've been on a fairly decent length journey even if the car is running fine.

[Edited on 28/9/2015 by craig1410]

Irony

posted on 28/9/15 at 02:48 PM Reply With Quote
Well it seems to get oily as it sits there!!!

Things I should have already mentioned.

Just been through the IVA which it flew through the emissions test without braking a sweat.
It's a 3.9l Rover V8 with a Weber 500 carb. Carb bought known good from a locoster running a 3.5 engine. I would have though it would be running lean not rich.