Board logo

What is a Flat Drill
ditchlewis - 12/9/07 at 07:49 AM

I have to re drill the base of my starter motor. it is retained with a allen headed bolt that is flush with the face of the base.

the man at cambridge motorsport said i needed a flat head drill. what is one of these?

i know that i have to drill a hole for the bolt but then i have to ream out the base to get the bolt to sit flush with the face.

is a flat head drill bit one of these?

Ditch Rescued attachment flat drill.JPG
Rescued attachment flat drill.JPG

Hurdsey - 12/9/07 at 07:58 AM

Nope thats a Flat Bit for wood.
I'm not an engineer but I think a flat head drill is designed to drill holes with a flat bottom instead of a bevelled bottom iyswim. I'm sure a good Engineers merchants would stock them.
It may be reffered to as a Reamer but I'm not sure.

Mark Allanson - 12/9/07 at 07:59 AM

..or perhaps an end mill

designer - 12/9/07 at 08:00 AM

The drill you showed is for wood.

A flat drill the bloke is talking about is one used when the hole does not go through the piece being drilled and it leaves a flat bottom to the hole.

Where are you drilling on the base? Are you just making another mounting hole?

JAG - 12/9/07 at 08:02 AM

It's not referred to as a Reamer.

But it is a drill designed to cut a flat bottomed hole.

Be very careful when using it - the shorter cutting edge (than a normal drill) means they need a lot of torque to drive them and can only cut relatively slowly

Fred W B - 12/9/07 at 08:16 AM

Its called a spot face tool.

If you can't find one can you change to a bolt with a countersunk head, as a chamfer tool is easier to find?

Cheers

Fred W B

[Edited on 12/9/07 by Fred W B]

ditchlewis - 12/9/07 at 08:31 AM

many thanks lads

the alloy mounting plate on my starter motor needs moving round. the existing holes have a flat bottom to them to seat the bolt flat and flush to the face.

Fred's idea sounds good.