Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Advice and Opinion (Pics)
Nosey

posted on 15/11/08 at 10:30 AM Reply With Quote
Advice and Opinion (Pics)

Hi All,

Getting close to finishing the chassis and am wondering if people could look over these pics (apologies for the poor quality). Car is for hillclimbs so engine is moved over to passenger side & back as far as I could, English axle, ST bodywork. Any advice on glaring oversights or basic errors? All opinions welcome.

Description
Description

Description
Description

Description
Description

Description
Description

Description
Description

[Edited on 15/11/08 by Nosey]

MakeEverything

posted on 15/11/08 at 10:41 AM Reply With Quote
Looks ok to me.

Kindest Regards,
Richard.

...You can make it foolProof, but youll never make it Idiot Proof!...

prawnabie

posted on 15/11/08 at 10:42 AM Reply With Quote
Not that im an expert but will you need extra bracing around the rack mounts?

Shaun

lsdweb

posted on 15/11/08 at 10:46 AM Reply With Quote
Rear diagonal in the cage? Mandatory in the UK - Irish regs ae usually tighter again!

Wyn

MikeR

posted on 15/11/08 at 10:47 AM Reply With Quote
I'd strengthen your rear trailing arm links with a gusset. They have been known to break.

No diagonal in your rear hoop.

Rear stays look thin (is it all to MSA spec?)

Can't see seat belt mounts

Steering rack should have some triangulation across the width of the car

I'd also build in some ajustability to the steering rack mounting points to dial out bump steer.

Add top triangulation to the engine bay as its for racing.

Read up on the cymitrics / ausie chassis mods to strengthen the car. You can add strength for very little (or in some cases) no weight gain.

Put your shock brackets at the front on the outside of hte chassis rail (makes them slightly more upright).

Cap your tubes to stop water getting in.