Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: anyone using wireless on ubuntu??
johnston

posted on 21/1/09 at 12:18 AM Reply With Quote
anyone using wireless on ubuntu??

Thought i'd give ubuntu a go as
vista is doing my head in!!

done a duel boot everything seems to be a good job except I cant get my wireless dongle to work!!!

alot of what i've found on the net is gibberish to me.

Anyone on here know what to do?

rodders

posted on 21/1/09 at 12:51 AM Reply With Quote
Yep I'm using it, what's the problem? Can't find your network? dongle isn't know by the computer?
Dangle_kt

posted on 21/1/09 at 09:05 AM Reply With Quote
I had a problem with puppy linux and a wireless card - i just googled:

puppy linux wd-12392 (or whatever the card was called)

And read what came up, just do the same, but make sure you type the correct dongle make/model in.

You will probably find that a wrapper will work - I'm new to it all but as far as I can tell it utilises a driver for windows inside linux, and the wrapper lets it all talk to each other.

britishtrident

posted on 21/1/09 at 09:41 AM Reply With Quote
Depends very much on the wireless dongle as some have proper Linux drivers available some don't and I have never got the method of using a windows driver in a wraper to work..

Last year I know that Mint came with more native wireless drivers than Ubuntu but this may/should no longer be the case as Mint development feeds back into Ubuntu.

I use one of the very cheapest no-brand dongles bought from ebuyer and it allows me to connect to either of my networks from mint Linux without problem, I also have a Sweex dongle that I can't find linux drivers for.

[Edited on 21/1/09 by britishtrident]

idl1975

posted on 21/1/09 at 10:52 AM Reply With Quote
I've been through this with Redhat, Ubuntu and SuSE distributions.