Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Bonnet bulge in fibreglass
peter_m7uk

posted on 6/11/10 at 04:29 PM Reply With Quote
Bonnet bulge in fibreglass

Hi,

My EFi Pinto is too tall to fit under the bonnet and I didn't want to go for a modded manifold, so I cut a hole in the bonnet, but now looking for ways to fit a bulge. I reckon a fibreglass job in red gelcoat would look great, but I have no previous experience in this and it's one of the few jobs that I'm happy to let someone else do. In fact, it's probably making the mould that's the tricky/time-consuming bit, as I don't think producing the piece out of the mould is *that* hard! Anyone know of a bespoke fibreglass part maker?? If they were near Hove all the better, but I could always send a diagram to show exactly what I want.

Cheers,
Pete

daniel mason

posted on 6/11/10 at 05:22 PM Reply With Quote
you can buy them pre made so no moulds would be needed! i think dax sell them and someone on here makes them (but they are large. alternatively carbonmods sell them in c/f but not the cheapest!

peter_m7uk

posted on 6/11/10 at 06:03 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Daniel,

I meant to say that I'd already looked at pre-made bulges, but couldn't find anything suitable. Part of the problem is that the Pinto EFi manifold slopes up toward the rear of the engine bay and sticks out several centimetres, so the usual kind of scoop bulge wouldn't work. I've seen the carbonmods one and don't think that would work either, although could try fitting it backwards! Anyone got a picture of the Dax one, can't seem to find that. I still think a bespoke piece would be the ultimate - Don't mind shelling out if it looks really good!

Pete

Triton

posted on 6/11/10 at 06:06 PM Reply With Quote
Have a butchers in my archive as there are pics in there of bonnet bump things...My daughter has got the mould so if it's something you feel will work let me know.

Cheers,
Mark