Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Using Car for Self-Employed Business. What tax records do I need?
John P

posted on 9/11/10 at 04:40 PM Reply With Quote
Using Car for Self-Employed Business. What tax records do I need?

I recently started up as a self-employed handyman and as I can't afford to run two vehicles am using my normal car for work as well as domestic.

I believe I can claim a proportion of the running costs on my tax return but what sort of records will I need?

Because I do a lot of running around (often just short trips) it will be very time consuming to itemise every journey. Could I just assess my business mileage and ratio this against my total mileage or will they need more detail than this.

What are others doing? I'm really after the simplest acceptable solution as I'm not good at keeping routine records.

John.

RichardK

posted on 9/11/10 at 04:55 PM Reply With Quote
We have to do a daily mileage which isnt too bad once you get in to the habit.

Here is the spreadsheet we print out and keep in the car.

Linky

Cheers

Rich

Gallery updated 11/01/2011

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
BenB

posted on 9/11/10 at 05:08 PM Reply With Quote
Really you should do a mileage. As said it's not that tricky. Just keep a little notepad in the car and record mileages. Fundamentally you just need to prove you're keeping a record, it would be difficult for the IR to prove your recordings are incorrect (unless you appear to have done more miles than your car has actually done ).
minitici

posted on 9/11/10 at 05:23 PM Reply With Quote
Simplest way to claim for self-employed business use of vehicles is to claim the mileage allowance of 40p per mile up to 10000 miles then 25p per mile thereafter.
You just need to record those miles which are wholly for business use in the vehicles which you are using.
(Claim as part of self assesment)