Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Megasquirt beginner req fuel
David_17

posted on 1/1/11 at 08:17 PM Reply With Quote
Megasquirt beginner req fuel

Hi all. Just at the stage where i'm about ready to map my car. I'm new to megasquirt so i've read up on what i can to get a basic understanding.

I'm struggling with the very basics, which should be easy...

I've read when first starting, it's best to adjust the required fuel in the engine constants page until the engine is warm. It says adjust by 2ms at a time.

The problem i've got is, it won't let me change it?? What am I missing? lol. I can't type a number in or press the up/down arrows. (i'm assuming it's the 2nd box down at the left?)

Can someone please point me in the right direction, i feel stupid. haha

Cheers

Dave

David_17

posted on 1/1/11 at 08:31 PM Reply With Quote
Just done a bit more reading, it looks as if it's the top box i should be changing, but why are there adjustment arrows that don't work on the 2nd box down??
martyn_16v

posted on 1/1/11 at 09:00 PM Reply With Quote
I think it's just a 'feature' of Tunerstudio not actually specifically knowing what it's writing in each dialog from the outset, it creates all of the dialogs from the ini file depending on what firmware you're using.

The second one is a scaled req_fuel value depending on how many squirts/cycle you have set.

suparuss

posted on 2/1/11 at 11:52 AM Reply With Quote
the required fuel should be calculated using your engine and injector characteristics and left alone (to begin with) you then make adjustments to your map. the megamanual gives you an ideal starting point the constants depending on your setup, you dont really need to change from this to start with.