Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Body filler application
johnH20

posted on 9/1/11 at 09:26 PM Reply With Quote
Body filler application

What is the secret of applying super thin body filler to selective areas of a GRP panel? Due to overenthusiastic power sanding I have created some areas that are locally scored and/or depressed relative to the intended surface. I am talking less than half mil here. I always end up with too much body filler , say 2mm thick, and create more problems sanding it down than I started with! Is there a tool/technique to use or a method of thinning the filler so it 'flows' better and leaves a nice feathered edge?
deltron63

posted on 9/1/11 at 09:38 PM Reply With Quote
The only real answer is, practise. Small dents are harder than big ones. I've been doing it for 25 years and still get it wrong once in a while
designer

posted on 9/1/11 at 09:46 PM Reply With Quote
I think I seem to remember being told years ago that if you put acetone on the spreader the filler will not stick to it and you can spread it thin.
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
woolly

posted on 9/1/11 at 10:02 PM Reply With Quote
could try spray filler, long time since i used it. presume its still available
Mark Allanson

posted on 9/1/11 at 10:06 PM Reply With Quote
Go to your local factor and ask for Dolphin Glaze, self levelling filler

If you can keep you head, whilst all others around you are losing theirs, you are not fully aware of the situation

deltron63

posted on 9/1/11 at 10:17 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Mark Allanson

I wouldn't use it on fiberglass, too hard to rub down

Mark Allanson

posted on 9/1/11 at 10:25 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by deltron63
quote:
Originally posted by Mark Allanson

I wouldn't use it on fiberglass, too hard to rub down