Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: newbie. How to get started?
smiles

posted on 28/4/11 at 12:04 AM Reply With Quote
newbie. How to get started?

Hi guys im new to the kit car world but have been interested for a few months now. I would love a kit car and do the odd track days but have a few questions to ask if u dont mind

1. is the sport relatively cheap to do as im not a massive earner?
2. i like the soft top cars like the locost but is there any roof u can get that u can drive it in the rain without geting wet and also storing the car on a driveway and using as a daily driver?
3. I have no access to a garage but car will be parked occasionally on the driveway which isnt a bad area but has its moments as with everywhere. Other times it wil be parked in an underground car park but will this cause the car to go rusty ater a few years if its on the driveway?
3. I am 24 years old with over 4 years no claims will insurance be cheap i hear people saying its cheaper than a normal car which i feel hard to believe especially if its gonna be kept on a driveway.
4. I have never driven a kit car before but which is best to start with dont want anything to slow or to fast. Just quick, very fun and cheap to run?
Thanks for ur time and all comments welcome.

daniel mason

posted on 28/4/11 at 12:25 AM Reply With Quote
insurance is good on the kits if you go to the right company and have limited mileage policy!
you can get soft tops for sevens but i would recommend a proper waterproof cover as well if your leaving outside.
its way cheaper to buy a built car than to build yourself,but a lot of the fun is in the building for a lot on here. me included. but if you build your own it wont be cheap. im not a big earner but am running a bit over budget and still not finished.