Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: OT wtd remote control helicopter (damaged)
balidey

posted on 11/5/11 at 10:56 AM Reply With Quote
OT wtd remote control helicopter (damaged)

Pretty off topic.
I am looking at getting an RC helicopter to maybe start me off with a new hobby.
I've done a fair bit of reading up and I fully understand its a tricky skill to master and not to rush into the big expensive models.

And as an engineer I have taken a lot of pleasure from seeing pictures of these models and seeing the complex mechanisms inside them.

I know how fragile they can be and so there must be loads of crash damaged helos in cupboards that I could have a look over and have a play with.

So, anyone got a cheap, and probably damaged helo I could have?

I'm looking at the Align T-rex 450 (or clone) as a long term goal, but short term, something smaller like the T-rex 100. But I can't afford to get one of those fully RTF yet, but if I could get a broken one to look at, play with etc then that would maybe keep me occupied for a month or so while I save up for a proper flying one. Just to get to know how they work. More out of interest then wanting to repair it.

Yes I know it sounds odd asking for a broken RC helo that doesn't fly, but at the minute I can't afford one with all the extras that would be needed.

And yes I have seen the £40 Syma 3 channel ones in the model shops, possibly thinking about getting something like that to start me off, but they all look a bit... too Chinese crap?

Anyone got something that may fit the bill?
Did I mention it must be cheap?

Steve.

Dutch bears have terrible skin due to their clogged paws

wescottishmatt

posted on 11/5/11 at 11:21 AM Reply With Quote