Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Engine Upgrade Advice
simonotterre

posted on 18/8/11 at 04:44 PM Reply With Quote
Engine Upgrade Advice

Alright All, I'm here to eek some pearls of wisdom from everyone please. I'm a newbie to this site and Kitcars alike, I've just purchased a Locost with a 1600 X-Flow, with a 4 speed box (previous track car I've been told). I had the Carbs setup by a local reputable tuner on advice of previous owner. Ive had that done and runs like a dream. The only problem I have now is i feel its lacking the performance I hoped for from my first kit car The engine has already got a port and polished head, fast road cam and been bored out to around the 1700cc mark etc. after the rolling road tune the guy told me it was kicking out around 60bhp at the wheels for my 450kgs car. I'd really like a 5th gear at least for the long transits to the Nurberg Ring and the odd dual carriageway.
The advice I'm looking for really is the type of gearbox to go for or inevitably what engine upgrade is quite simple-ish to complete?
I'd like it for fast road use really, no track use, just every day poo your pants on the way too work use really.

Been looking at the red top c20xe, 2.0 pinto but would prefer injection, 1.8 zetec or I thought of maybe a little ambitious but was wondering the mounting points etc might be the same but a 1.6 cvh RS Turbo engine with a type 9 bolted on? Thats probably the same size as a 1600 x-flow, gearbox should bolt straight on? But really just advice and previous experience please.
I have an ok knowledge of mechanics but not quite the technical knowledge of gearbox-engine combo's etc.

I'd be looking at doing most work myself with a mate.

Hope I've give you enough information for some good replies.

Cheers All...
Si

cliftyhanger

posted on 18/8/11 at 04:54 PM Reply With Quote
I think the easiest/cheapest setup would be a zetec with a type 9.