Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Carb flooding one cylinder? (fireblade 919)
Benzo

posted on 22/8/11 at 03:03 PM Reply With Quote
Carb flooding one cylinder? (fireblade 919)

Hi Guys,

wondering if anyone could shed any light on my carb problem..

I have just built up my engine from a quick strip down and check over a few weeks ago..

I have just remounted my carbs and when the engine is running, i can see down one of the trumpets that it is totally flooding the 4th cylinder with fuel.. (i can see a steady flow of fuel filling up the trumpet in below the slide.)

What would cause this?

Im not too experienced with carbs, but my 1st impression was a sticking float?/float problem?

I didnt want to start and dismantle the carbs because i know they are quite finely tuned piece of kit and i am more of a lump hammer and sledge kind of guy!!

Any help appriciated.

Iain

[Edited on 22/8/11 by Benzo]

whitestu

posted on 22/8/11 at 03:11 PM Reply With Quote
You are right, it is likely to be a sticking float valve. They are easy enough to remove and clean out.

Stu

Benzo

posted on 22/8/11 at 03:13 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by whitestu
You are right, it is likely to be a sticking float valve. They are easy enough to remove and clean out.

Stu

Great off today so im going to give that a rattle now to see if it solves my problem

norfolkluego

posted on 22/8/11 at 05:29 PM Reply With Quote
If you've flooded the cylinder make sure you change the oil, could well be contaminated with petrol
Benzo

posted on 22/8/11 at 05:59 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by norfolkluego
If you've flooded the cylinder make sure you change the oil, could well be contaminated with petrol

Very true mate thanks for that..

Now i am having another problem, fitting the carbs with the AB performance airbox is a real PITA..