Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Tips on interviewing job applicants
nick205

posted on 27/9/11 at 09:29 PM Reply With Quote
Tips on interviewing job applicants

After very nearly leaving my current employer I have some recent experience of being interviewed first and second round and being both rejected and receiving job offers. I now find myself about to interview a round of applicants for my old job which will be reporting to me

In my experience of being interviewed it's mainly about whether you gel with the interviewer and demonstrate the correct attitude - specific qualifications/experience seems secondary (your CV should cover most of this element).

This is the approach I plan to take, but having never been on the conducting side of the process I'm after peoples advice and experiences.

What can you tell me people...?

matt_gsxr

posted on 27/9/11 at 09:36 PM Reply With Quote
I don't know your area of expertise but a basic test or two are always good and sort the bullshitters out from the right people.
CV's are fine but people come out of college with bits of paper that don't mean much these days (IMO).

We had a nice example of this for a technical post. Bits of computing, bits of electronics, mostly basic help for non-techies.
So we had a couple of little tests. One was 7 2-legged electrical components and the question was:
What are each of these, so there was a diode, a resistor, a capacitor etc..

One guy came across pretty well in interview. He took a long careful look at the components, and said "are they all fuses?". I suspect in his hands they would have been. He didn't get an offer, but he might have done without the test.

twybrow

posted on 27/9/11 at 09:39 PM Reply With Quote
Probe for examples of what and how the candidates have made their achievements... I don't want to hear a list of achievements, I want examples to demonstrate what candidates have done....