Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Tail light/dash light fuse started blowing
velocitykendal

posted on 4/12/11 at 02:56 PM Reply With Quote
Tail light/dash light fuse started blowing

Hi,

Firstly I'd like to apologise in advance for my ignorance, I'm a bit new to kit car ownership having bought a Tiger Avon 2 months ago.

The problem I have is a fuse has started blowing seemingly unprompted by anything. The fuse in question was a 10amp third from the left that is connected to the tail lights and dash lights. Could anyone offer some advice on how I might troubleshoot this?

Many thanks.

Jon Ison

posted on 4/12/11 at 03:23 PM Reply With Quote
Hi,

Welcome, as no one is familiar with your electrical set up then its going to be all but impossible to diagnose online.

what else runs from that fuse ? Brake lights ? Horn ? Chances are there is more than one circuit using the fuse, could be a fault absolutely nothing to do with your tail lights that is giving you the problem ?

rusty nuts

posted on 4/12/11 at 03:30 PM Reply With Quote
Disconnect all of the tail lights after making a note of which wire goes where, same for dash lights and possibly the front side lights if they are all covered by the same fuse. Fit a good fuse and reconnect each wire in turn until fuse blows, you should then have some idea where to look for fault. You could disconnect one circuit at a time but you may go through a lot of fuses. If you have a multimeter that could be used to trace the fault as well
jabs

posted on 4/12/11 at 04:01 PM Reply With Quote
Check the wiring to the tail lights, as it's intermittent could be you have a chaffing or trapped wire somewhere.
loggyboy

posted on 4/12/11 at 04:12 PM Reply With Quote
Check the earths.
99.9% of electrical glitches are bad earths.

snowy2

posted on 4/12/11 at 04:37 PM Reply With Quote
ditto earth's....next crappy connections.