Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Which used laptop for vehicle diagnostics?
hillbillyracer

posted on 13/10/12 at 03:06 PM Reply With Quote
Which used laptop for vehicle diagnostics?

I've been thinking of getting a laptop just for vehicle diagnostics for a while, so having missed out on a mate's stag weekend I've decided I can justify spending a few quid cos I aint spent it on a good time & a hangover! It's for use on my own, family & mate's stuff but at work I'm an agric engineer where we do get a few cars in to service, MOT prep etc so I can see it being of use there, my boss is a little reluctant to the benifits & need of such equipment so mabye it'll open his eyes a bit & he'll invest himself (or mabye I can earn a little from it!)
A little research suggests it matters little what actual brand so long as it has a spec capable of running whatever kit I choose & nothing very up to date is needed for most of them. So what should I go for in terms of reliability, standing up to being used in a workshop, being fixable & getting stuff like a battery or a screen hinge should something go wrong? More to the point are there any makes/models I should avoid!

I wasn't going to go daft with the spec but looking at getting something a bit better than the minimum required so it's well on top of the job & a decent amount of storage so I can put as many workshop manuals as I need on it etc, an extra £30-40 seems to get a fair bit higher spec. Seems to be plenty choice on ebay around £130-160.

Which operating system? I've heard many say Windows XP is best suited but is that true or is it just folk not liking change, having to learn a new system etc? Is there any danger of XP becoming obsolete to the point of not being supported (VCDS/VAGcom no longer works on windows 98 or earlier now according to their site)