Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Fitting GRP seats - advice pls!
jps

posted on 1/11/12 at 07:32 PM Reply With Quote
Fitting GRP seats - advice pls!

I've got some GRP seats from MEV/Road-Track-Race which I am going to stick into my Haynes Roadster chassis. I need to have them in situ so I can work out where I will put box section across the chassis to hold the seat runners...

I've never worked with GRP before so - any tips on:
a) how to drill out the holes
b) the right size holes to drill (i've realised that I need to put some 'penny' washers to try and spread the load across the material.
c) whether or not I am on a hiding to nothing trying to use the seat runners from my Sierra donor car.
d) anything obvious i've missed...

Thanks in anticipation!!!

pmc_3

posted on 1/11/12 at 08:06 PM Reply With Quote
I've never mounted any in a kit car. I used to race karts that had Tillet fibreglass seats and they were always mounted on nylon spacers as they have a bit of give and are less likely to crack the seats. I would have thought it would be pretty similar.
daviep

posted on 1/11/12 at 08:15 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by pmc_3
I've never mounted any in a kit car.

Don't worry all it takes is a bit of technique and certain kind of lady

I'll get my coat

“A truly great library contains something in it to offend everyone.”

pmc_3

posted on 1/11/12 at 08:23 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by daviep
quote:
Originally posted by pmc_3
I've never mounted any in a kit car.

Don't worry all it takes is a bit of technique and certain kind of lady

I'll get my coat

pmsl! I can imagine the roll bar would come in handy

daviep

posted on 1/11/12 at 09:00 PM Reply With Quote
On a more serious note I would have a second thought about whether you really need seat runners, generaly everybody tries to get the seat mounted as low as possible.