Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Looking for a new project..
daveb666

posted on 13/5/13 at 08:45 PM Reply With Quote
Looking for a new project..

Hi, newbie here! (Did look for a newbie forum but couldn't find one!)

I've also searched for a lot of answers to my questions but as of yet still find answer lacking so I'm hoping you can help, please

Over the past 10 years I've tinkered with cars of all varieties from Integra Type Rs, to hill-climb 210bhp vauxhall corsas(xe on ITBs), astra turbos, a clio 172 and even an rs turbo van thing (bleurgh!).

I now find I have an itch for a catherham/westfield/locust/formula 27/tiger.... but have so many questions.

I've googled as to what the differences are between them all. The only re-sounding outcome seems to be that alot of people don't like the Robin Hood cars, and that they're an 'entry level' kit and are for 'sunday drives'. Is this true, my car will be used for weekend blasts and 5 or 6 track days a year.

If someone can point me in the direction of something that tells me the differences/pros/cons that would be awesome. All my searches seem to bring up Tigers/Formula 27 or some older westfields but I don't know what the benefits of each design are?

I'm looking to buy an already-built car, road-registered (fully working is great but one with a blown engine would be even better). I know xe's like the back of my hand so really want to have a car that will support an xe (and maybe a bike engine in later years?)

The majority of cars in my budget usually have a 2.0 pinto on carbs, but being used to very revvy, 180bhp+ engines over the past 10 years I'm worried it won't be quick enough; my last track car was a standard 172 clio but I regularly overtook kit-cars on the short straight at Blyton. What sort of power etc will a nicely tuned pinto put out?