Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Indy Set-up Advice
alister667

posted on 9/10/04 at 05:50 PM Reply With Quote
Indy Set-up Advice

I got talking to Bill Adair about set up of my Indy and I'm going to pass on what I've found out.
Just to put it into perspective Bill has been racing cars for the guts of 25 years, has raced westfileds and is the Ireland agent for MK. I'm no expert and I'm merely relaying what he told me, also I'm jusyt starting to do this stuff to my own Indy.

First off is toe in / toe out. First get your car onto flat surface and point the front wheels straight ahead. Attach a couple of straight pieces of wood (any material woill do as long as they're straight) to the front wheels pointing out front - I used bungy cords seemed to work OK. Make sure the wood isn't being fouled by the front cycle wings or your fancy sticky-out alloy spokes!
I measure two points on the sticks (measured from the centre of the wheels) one 60cm out and one 120cm out. Measure the differnce in the widths of the sticks at these two points. If they're the same you're wheels are both pointing straight ahead niether toe in or toe out. If the 120cm point is narrower you're toeing in. Bill recommends a small amount of toe-in on an Indy. I sat down and did a bit ot trig and reckon that if the 120cm point is 10mm narrower than the 60cm point that's about 0.5 degrees toe in.

For castor Bill reckons if your castor is the same on both sides it's a big help. This can be checked by turning your wheels full lock to one side then hanging a plumb line down from the top of the wheel and seeing how much it overhangs thebottom of the wheel. Do the same on the other side and I guess you can adjust your mushroom insert to get them to match. I'm setting my castor basically to maximum, but I'm going to get both sides to match (they're about 3mm different at the mo).