Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Fireblade engine help
ScottDab

posted on 5/5/14 at 08:58 PM Reply With Quote
Fireblade engine help

Hi,

I currently own a caterham with a 919cc fireblade engine in it. I recently was out and the engine developed a loud knocking round and the coolant was full of oil :-(

I am looking into my options of replacing the engine and was wondering if anyone could help?

Does anyone know of a supplier of the 919 engines?

Would a 929/954 engine be a good upgrade with throttle bodies?

I run a dry sump so would my sump fit a 929/954 engine?

Could I even look into getting a cbr1000 engine?

I am an engineer by trade so I have no problem with modifying engine mounts etc! Just not sure if I want to be machining a new sump!

Sorry about all the questions!

Scott

Doctor Derek Doctors

posted on 5/5/14 at 09:13 PM Reply With Quote
Andy Bates of AB Performance is the man to speak to, he'll sort you out with the best advice available about your options based on your budget/needs. Otherwise there are plenty of used 919 Fireblades around to put your sump onto.

Designer and Supplier of the T89 Designs - Single Seater Locost. Build you own Single Seater Racecar for ~£5k.

Plans and Drawings available, U2U or e-mail for details.

Available Now: The Sports Racer Add-On pack, Build a full bodied Sports Racer for Trackdays, Sprints and Racing.

www.t89.co.uk
www.racecarwings.co.uk

callan@t89.co.uk

NOTE:This user is registered as a LocostBuilders trader and may offer commercial services to other users
OliilO

posted on 5/5/14 at 09:29 PM Reply With Quote