Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Can I use a Standard Fuelling/ Computer System?
Tugchaser

posted on 11/8/15 at 11:58 AM Reply With Quote
Can I use a Standard Fuelling/ Computer System?

Hello everyone.

I am a newbie here and considering my first build and I will have a number of questions (apologies in advance as they are probably silly/ basic) to which I cannot find the answers in search.

The first question is about engine packages. I note that when motor choice is talked about here it nearly always includes talk about new throttle bodies & custom ecu's etc. To my simple mind it appears that manufacturers spend millions developing fuelling systems and they then come effectively free on second hand motors. For the cost of upgrading a motor I could have purchased a much better motor with standard bits.

I have also heard that some modern systems tie everything from the indicators onward into the computer and that it can be effectively impossible to move the whole system.

What is the truth. Which motor/ injection/ computer systems can I move and which can't I move? and why do so few of you want to do so?

[Edited on 11/8/15 by Tugchaser]

Paul Turner

posted on 11/8/15 at 12:25 PM Reply With Quote
All engines are simple devices, give then air, fuel and spark at the right ratios and the right time and they will work.

But modern computer systems are incredibly complicated and in most cases virtually impossible to hack.

The simplest way is to scrap all the manufacturers injection kit and utilise what the aftermarket has to offer. You can then use a simple ignition ECU, carbs of a scrap bike and off you go. The bonus is none of the emissions malarkey that robs power.