Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Voltage Regulator for dash dials?
Moorron

posted on 2/3/16 at 08:49 PM Reply With Quote
Voltage Regulator for dash dials?

Hi guys, knowing some of you here know something about all this Elec trickery stuff I need some advice.

My dash water temp and fuel tank level seems to give different readings when the engine is running and when not which points to the available voltage in the car (14v vs 12v). As these gauges are just volt meters using a potential divider they will get effected by the different volts.

Is there an easy way to regulate their supply voltage to 12v all the time regardless of the engine running or not? I was thinking of supplying my entire dash loom with it so must handle 2 amps?

I can solder and make up a circuit but you guys might know of something off the shelf that is small and safe to use?

Cheers

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

ken555

posted on 2/3/16 at 09:37 PM Reply With Quote
Lucas style voltage regulator, just use a simple 7810 to keep the voltage at 10V.

How I did it.

of course you don't need to put it in a case, just bolt it to something metal as a heatsink.

[Edited on 2-3-16 by ken555]

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
tegwin

posted on 2/3/16 at 11:11 PM Reply With Quote
Nothing wrong with the solution above BUT if you want to run anything sensitive then I would put in a couple of filtering capacitors at the very least to smooth out any ripples from the altenrator

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Would the last person who leaves the country please switch off the lights and close the door!

www.verticalhorizonsmedia.tv

ken555

posted on 3/3/16 at 09:18 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by tegwin