Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: OBP leak/problem
steve m

posted on 11/11/18 at 12:59 AM Reply With Quote
OBP leak/problem

Hi all

Ive got an OBP brake pedal box, and I have a leak!

To start with, the leak, was a drip every few weeks from the front master cylinder, and annoying, but nothing more

So I took the resovoir off, and seals , cleaned it up, ( wasn't dirty) and put back on

Leaks worse now!!

order new resovoir kit, put on, leaks the same, badly,

so, have I got a bad master cylinder ?

Im only asking, as this is really doing my head in, as its so simple, but also so taxing

steve

Thats was probably spelt wrong, or had some grammer, that the "grammer police have to have a moan at

rusty nuts

posted on 11/11/18 at 09:45 AM Reply With Quote
Which type of master cylinder and where exactly is the leak coming from?
steve m

posted on 11/11/18 at 07:04 PM Reply With Quote
Its one of these, with the separate resovoir

https://uk.images.search.yahoo.com/search/images;_ylt=AwrJS9eke.hbgGYAAM1LBQx.;_ylu=X3oDMTE0amQwOTZkBGNvbG8DaXIyBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDQjYxNjhfMQRzZWMDcGl2cw --?p=obp+cylinder&fr2=piv-web&fr=yfp-t#id=0&iurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.burtonpower.com%2Fmedia%2Fcatalog%2Fproduct%2Fcache%2F1%2Fimage%2Fdbee39 002c3ed3c5438224ee0989910f%2FO%2FB%2FOBPCB001.jpg&action=click

Today, ive taken the resovoir off, dismantled again, cleaned, and put together, made a blanking plug for the bottom, and filled up with brake fluid, and so far no leaks,

Next day off, I will put it all back together on the car, and if it still leaks, it has to be the master cylinder

steve

Thats was probably spelt wrong, or had some grammer, that the "grammer police have to have a moan at

Tonesta

posted on 11/11/18 at 08:29 PM Reply With Quote
I had the same happen to my obp pedal box rear master cylinder however I replaced the master cylinder and never resealed the old unit.
New unit has been fine no leaks

steve m