Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Green Flag?
David Jenkins

posted on 24/6/21 at 09:10 PM Reply With Quote
Green Flag?

Does anyone have experience of Green Flag?

The 'free' Kia/RAC Roadside Assistance that came with my main car expires tomorrow, and they didn't bother to send out a renewal invitation - naughty. So I've spent a little time this evening shopping around, and GF looks favourite on price, but I have no experience on their quality of service. Trustpilot gives them a high-ish score, but I take their reviews with a large pinch of salt.

This is the only car in which I drive long distances, so I feel the need for breakdown cover for it.

HowardB

posted on 24/6/21 at 09:35 PM Reply With Quote
I used green flag in the 90's it was good - I have signed up again, it is considerably less costly than AA/RAC or indeed the breakdown cover that my insurance co offered.
I am sure that you know this - it is an umbrella group for many independent recovery companies, I only ever had good experiences with them

hth

Howard

Fisher Fury was 2000 Zetec - now a 1600 (it Lives again and goes zoom)

cliftyhanger

posted on 24/6/21 at 09:39 PM Reply With Quote
Will it go into Europe at all?
We have breakdown for 2 cars included with our bank account (£12pm) but we also get worldwide travel insurance plus phone insurance included. It can be cost effective WHEN we can actually go places.
You can try breakdown comparison sites to see who is cheapest. Obviously watch for oddball T+Cs.

mcerd1

posted on 24/6/21 at 10:45 PM Reply With Quote
A few years back my wife called them out for a dead battery, she was on her own stuck in the middle of nowhere at night (and had told them so) and despite calling them several times for an update it took over 3 hours to send someone out to her
so you can imagine it kind of puts me off using them despite the lower cost...