Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Filling a dent in a concrete floor
scudderfish

posted on 12/1/22 at 02:41 PM Reply With Quote
Filling a dent in a concrete floor

I'm trying to make my garage warmer. I've just had some nice thick automated doors fitted. However my floor is not flat and level and one of the doors won't seal against it leaving a gap about 5mm high and 150mm wide. What would be a suitable way of building the floor up in this area? The floor isn't damaged, it's just craply made.
coyoteboy

posted on 12/1/22 at 02:57 PM Reply With Quote
I have no experience directly, so may be talking out of my behind. However I would assume you can screed over too thin, so you might have to chisel out Xmm depth right out to the level area, then fill it. If you just screed the surface, it'll likely flake.

That said, there may be epoxy coatings that will handle it.

nick205

posted on 12/1/22 at 03:13 PM Reply With Quote
An alternative to patching the floor, could you not fit a weather bar/strip of some sort for the garage door to close against. Our roller shutter door at work has a rubber weather strip in a metal channel screwed to the floor across the door way. Stops wind and rain blowing under the door in the winter (and heat escaping). Check with a local garage door fitting company and see what they suggest (obviously buy and fit yourself).

https://www.screwfix.com/p/stormguard-garage-threshold-seal-black-2- 5m/37019

[Edited on 12/1/22 by nick205]

SteveWalker

posted on 12/1/22 at 03:20 PM Reply With Quote
Floor levelling compound? It is made for the job and can be tapered to a very thin layer.
roadrunner

posted on 12/1/22 at 03:40 PM Reply With Quote
As Steve says.
Not bad stuff for leveling an uneven floor.

pigeondave

posted on 12/1/22 at 05:09 PM Reply With Quote
Bewarned Not all levelling compounds are the same. Some have a max thickness of 3mm, others will go down to a feathered edge.