Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: RX7 enzo
girlzlover12

posted on 7/7/05 at 05:33 AM Reply With Quote
RX7 enzo

What I want to do is take a 93 rx7 and cut apart the frame and shape it more like a ferrari enzo I would make my own body panels out of fiberglass using my own molds. I am new to this kind of project and I was told on rx7club.com that I would be able to get some help here.

Is there anywhere where I can go to for some good information on building the new frame?
Tips and things to keep in mind would also help a lot

ReMan

posted on 7/7/05 at 07:03 AM Reply With Quote
Not sure you've got the right forum here either
Try here?
http://www.kitcarlinks.com/ushomepages3.htm

[Edited on 7/7/05 by ReMan]

www.plusnine.co.uk
∙،°. ˘Ô≈ôﺣ

Bart Vangampelaere

posted on 7/7/05 at 01:36 PM Reply With Quote
Really depends on what you want to do. If you wish to make it a close replica of the Enzo, you'll need to build a completely new car! The Enzo is mid-engined, and uses a carbon fibre monocoque. The FD (93 RX-7) is front engined (engine behind front axle, also known as front mid engine) and uses a unibody design. Doors are "normal" while Enzo doors are totally different with cut-outs in the roof. You can't start cutting into a unibody design without seriously weakening the structure. Basicly any panel that's not bolted on is there for a reason.
If you want to go ahead, the only route would be building a tube framed car, using the drivetrain from the donor, if at least the engine would fit in the front. If not, you'll need a transaxle etc, meaning hardly anything but the engine would be left from the RX-7...

girlzlover12

posted on 7/7/05 at 04:45 PM Reply With Quote