Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Need some urgent advise please!
robertwa

posted on 12/7/05 at 05:38 AM Reply With Quote
Need some urgent advise please!

Hi guys,
I purchased a 05 yamaha fjr 1300 engine from ebay a couple of days ago. It was a great price I think ($1200) and is one of the few engines that works easily (cheaply) in a LHD car. It is also here in San Diego so I'm going to pick it up tomorrow.
My concern is that I'm new to bike engines and I want to make sure I get all the parts I need ie cdi, rectifier, sensors etc and not leave stuff behind. I don't think I could recognize some of the 'black boxes' for what they are. I haven't a clue what an exup systen is for example or what it looks like..
The ebay reference is 4560069949
To make matters more difficult, the owner who is parting out the bike has little or no english!!!
The ebay description is quite vague but says " Items included with this auction are the components directly connected to the engine such as the computer, started, fuses, batery box, etc. etc." so I guess you could interpret that for what you like.
I normally wouldn't have moved as quick as I did without knowing my stuff, but these engines don't come up often and certainly not on your doorstep.
I think my saving grace might be that the model shares a lot of stuff with the R1 and therefore parts should be available.

He had the shaft drive on ebay as well but it didn't sell, along with the fuel pump.
I might make him an offer on them.
FYI, I am planning a similar setup to this:
http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=22852

Any advice appreciated!
Thanks
Rob

[Edited on 12/7/05 by robertwa]

ChrisGamlin

posted on 12/7/05 at 05:51 AM Reply With Quote
Off the top of my head -

The full loom (including the bits that go to the handlebars etc)
CDI
Regulator / Rectifier
All sensors that attach to the loom
Airbox
Throttle bodies / carbs