Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Linux - what version ?
DaveFJ

posted on 26/7/05 at 02:46 PM Reply With Quote
Linux - what version ?

OK - cavanssing opinion

What version of Linux do people (who have an opinion on these things) prefer ?

currently considering Red hat, suse or debian but am open to suggestion.... oooer

cheers

[Edited on 26/7/05 by DaveFJ]

Dave

"In Support of Help the Heroes" - Always

Dillinger1977

posted on 26/7/05 at 02:50 PM Reply With Quote
as a newbie i tried fedora 3, mandrake 10.1 and suse 9.

i thought mandrake was the nicest 'out of the box'

-Rog

Peteff

posted on 26/7/05 at 03:09 PM Reply With Quote
I've had a go with Mepis. It is easy to understand and detected all the drives and graphics card straight away and has a good selection of software built in.

yours, Pete

I went into the RSPCA office the other day. It was so small you could hardly swing a cat in there.

andyharding

posted on 26/7/05 at 03:19 PM Reply With Quote
I have 20 odd machines running RedHat/Fedora.

Are you a Mac user or a retard?

David Jenkins

posted on 26/7/05 at 03:47 PM Reply With Quote
I've tried a few - Ubuntu and Mandrake (now called Mandriva) come out the best, IMHO.

Ubuntu is good if you have very little experience and want a rock-solid and fully tested system. It uses Gnome as its windowing system, which some people find strange. If you prefer the MS Windoze look-and-feel then Kubuntu is better, as it uses the KDE windowing system (all the rest is the same as Ubuntu). The BIG advantage of ubuntu/kubuntu is that you can get a CD-ROM with a live system that can be run from the disk, without affecting your current hard disk setup - this allows you to try it out.

My main system is Mandriva 2005 LE - it's really easy to install, and flexible enough for me to play around with it occasionally.

cheers,
David

britishtrident

posted on 26/7/05 at 03:50 PM Reply With Quote