Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Help needed changing from Pinto to CBR1000
VinceGledhill

posted on 30/7/05 at 10:30 AM Reply With Quote
Help needed changing from Pinto to CBR1000

Hi People.

I'm completely new to the world of Bike engines so please bear with me. I've no problems doing the work and have just got my car through SVA. I do however have a problem with the pinto that's in so that's why I've bought the CBR1000 from Colin.

Please could someone help with the following issues that I can't yet get my head around.

1. Wiring. I've got all the wiring from the donor bike but does anyone have a diagram? As far as I can see, I only need the bits that make the engine run and the alternator work etc. Any tips stripping out the rest?

2. Exhaust. Not a problem fabricating my own using all the parts off the Pinto and Tig welder but what about stainless steel headers. Any idea where I can get them from?

3. Anyone got any build pics of successful gear change linkages. Can't quite get my head around that.

4. Mounting the engine.... Want to make some sort of cage and want to mount it on rubber. Got two cross members at the top as per a mod I found to the chassis on here. Basically two Y pieces instead of the R tube. Tips anyone?

Any other issues you can think of?

Thanks in advance,

Regards
Vince Gledhill
Time Served Auto Electrician
Lucas Leeds 1979-1983

Peteff

posted on 30/7/05 at 10:43 AM Reply With Quote
Were you the next stop at Renishaw Vince? Colin dropped me a ZX speedo sender off on the way there yesterday. I sometimes fetch metal from Hammer Goodlad at Renishaw.

yours, Pete

I went into the RSPCA office the other day. It was so small you could hardly swing a cat in there.

dave69isit

posted on 30/7/05 at 12:36 PM Reply With Quote
help needed

this may be off some use
Guinness

posted on 30/7/05 at 04:38 PM Reply With Quote
Vince, welcome to the madness.