Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Granada/Scorpio
davimora

posted on 15/1/03 at 05:28 PM Reply With Quote
Granada/Scorpio

Hi!

i'm planning to build a mc sorley +4 chassis, and i still be in doubt about the donor.
More or less the cost of a Sierra and a Granada it's the same, at least in my country.
For what i know the Granda is very similar to Sierra, somebody (Stephen Gusterson? ) can tell me the differences? I'm worry expecially about the axle.
I'm interested on the rear disc brakes and in the abs, if make sense in a 7-like car...

Any comment?

stephen_gusterson

posted on 15/1/03 at 10:31 PM Reply With Quote
hi.

Im not an expert in the differences - but am armed with a haynes manual for both cars and the bits from an 87 e granada!

To my knowledge, the sierra and granada look to use nearly identical running gear.

The front hubs seem to differ in that they use 5 studs to hold the wheels on, not four as per sierra, and have attatchments for abs sensors in the hubs.

The rear suspension uses the same approach, with the big U shaped tube with the diff and arms mounted from it. The rear brakes on a granny are disks, not hubs as per most sierras. As far as I can see in pictures, the diff is the same - however, the drive shaft joints are different - bit metal 'pot' type things with inner cages and ball bearings - sierras use Y shaped CV looking things. I am pretty sure the shafts are a different length, and the way the CV joints mount to the output shafts of the diff are not the same. Sierra has splined holes, the granny has flanges with 6 torx bolts holding the cv joints on. These 6 bolts are bastards. They get so jammed up that the t40 torx cant cope and they shatter. Went throu 3 torx drive bits from halfords before i got em all off - and one i had to grind the head off.

my pics might show what the diff and joints look like, and im sure there is at least one pic of the hubs modded.