Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Looking Forward To First Build, Advice?
EViS

posted on 18/3/06 at 12:34 AM Reply With Quote
Looking Forward To First Build, Advice?

Spending the past week reading over a majority of this forum, and the past month looking into the kit car scene as a whole, I've made a decision, following advice from other forums prior to finding this one, that my first build should be a seven replica . However, despite the huge excitement building up in me and great enthusiasm to start the project, i've got a few concerns...

As I will be off to uni next september, I will only have around 6-7 weeks to complete the full build, get it MOT'd, SVA'd, DVLA Registered and Insured . Working full time 7 days per week, is the chance of the completion of this project quite high/low? Do keep in mind that I have NO experience in car engineering/construction what-so-ever, so i'm guessing the learning curve will be quite steep... but then again, this is one of the reasons why I have decided to take this on .

Are there any recommended books I could purchase to aid me with the build?

I would primarily be looking for help with all the wiring and electrics? For example, how the hell do I find out how to wire an ignition (key) to a start button to an immobiliser to an alarm ? A Haynes manual from my donor vehicle would definitley not tell me this...

Also, what sort of problems/troubleshooting am I likely to experience during the build? Something that cannot be followed/is not explained directly in the kit car manufacturers' build manual?

Will appreciate all advice from you guys ! And glad to have finally signed up to the forum community .

Benzine

posted on 18/3/06 at 02:37 AM Reply With Quote
I was in exactly the same situation, literally the same