Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: which ?!?
grf

posted on 22/3/03 at 10:34 AM Reply With Quote
which ?!?

Hey guys,

I'm still very new to this S7 lookalike thing ..

But I found a Robin Hood (finished build) for a reasonable price, registerd in Belgium.

I was thinking of buying this car first, get some more information, join a club etc in the next couple of years and then decide which car I really like and build my own.

As there is a big price difference between the robin hood and locost kits and the more expensice caterham and dax cars, I was wondering where this difference is coming from ...

Are the more expensive cars that much better ? or is it just the name you are paying for ?

To be honest I'm also a bit afraid of all the cars that are based on Ford parts, I don't look at Ford as the most reliable car manufactuer !
But there don't seem to be many options !

Anyway any suggestions and advice is appreciated !

zetec

posted on 22/3/03 at 12:46 PM Reply With Quote
What a lot of questions.

Robin Hood seem to do things different to most, not many fans on this board but they do sell plenty and have a loyal following.

The more expensive tend to offer a complete package with more custom parts. Using more of the donor parts keeps cost down.

The better fit and quality of the fibreglass used in the more expensive kits is easy to see, but that said companies like MK now supply some very good quality stuff. Other stuff like engines etc are much the same, you fit what you want, anything that fits a Caterham will probably fit a MK.